APPROVED BY SENATE 09/21/2015

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

SC.16.03 Procedures for Selecting a Search Committee to Advise the President on the Selection of a Chancellor

BACKGROUND

University Statutes, Article I, Section 5, Paragraph 2:

On the occasion of the appointment of a new chancellor, the president shall have the advice of a committee selected by the senate of the campus concerned.

Senate Constitution, Article VI, Section 11:

When the Senate selects members of a search committee, faculty senators shall nominate and elect faculty members of the committee, Other Academic Staff senators shall nominate and elect Other Academic Staff members of the committee, and student senators shall nominate and elect student members of the committee in separate votes.

Senate Bylaws, Part F, Paragraph 5:

The composition of a committee selected by the Senate to advise the President on the occasion of the appointment of a new chancellor shall be determined by the Senate. The Committee will include faculty and student members elected in accordance with Article VI, Section 11 of the Senate *Constitution*. Any representatives of other University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign constituencies shall be nominated in consultation with representative bodies of those constituencies and shall be elected by the full Senate.

Senate Executive Committee proposes a search committee of 15 members: nine faculty (one chair and eight additional members), three students (at least one undergraduate and at least one graduate or professional), one dean or director, one academic professional, and one staff. The composition and selection procedures are similar to the most recent chancellor search (2010-11).

RECOMMENDATION

Senate Executive Committee recommends the following composition of the chancellor search committee be approved by the Senate:

Chair (1): One member of the faculty. Committee on Committees will make two nominations and Senate Executive Committee will make an additional two nominations. Faculty senators will elect two from among the nominees. President will select one of these candidates as chair and the other will serve as one of the eight faculty members.

Faculty (8): Committee on Committees will nominate 12 to 14 members of the faculty electorate (see Senate Constitution Article II for definition of faculty electorate). Faculty senators will elect seven faculty with no more than two from the same college, and in accordance with the diversity requirements of Sec. 4.1 of the University of Illinois Act (110 ILCS 305). If the seven members chosen by Senate vote do not meet these criteria, then the female faculty member receiving the most votes and in addition the minority faculty member receiving the most votes will be added to the committee first, followed by the

remaining five members according to the vote, with no more than two from the same college. The remaining one faculty member chosen as noted above.

Students (3): Committee on Committees will nominate six members of the student electorate. Student senators will elect three: at least one undergraduate student and at least one graduate or professional student, with no more than one from the same disciplinary college or equivalent unit.

Dean or Director (1): The Council of Deans will nominate two members. The full Senate will elect one.

Academic Professional (1): The Council of Academic Professionals will nominate two members. Other Academic Staff senators will elect one.

Staff (1): The Staff Advisory Council will nominate two members. The full Senate will elect one.

Committee on Committees will provide a brief biographical sketch (150 words or less) of each of their nominees, along with a statement of willingness to serve. These nominees will be presented to the full Senate at the beginning of the open nomination period. Only the names of the nominees will be presented to the full Senate at the beginning of the open nomination period. All biographical sketches for all the candidates will be presented to the full Senate by electronic means at one time. Additional nominations may be made during the open nomination period in accordance with Article VI, Section 11, of the Senate *Constitution*. All nominations submitted during the open nomination period must include 1.) Nominee's Name, 2.) Nominee's statement of willingness to serve, and 3.) A brief biographical sketch of the nominee (150 words or less). The open nomination period shall be held on 5 work days, at a time starting as specified by the Senate Executive Committee. The final election shall be held on 3 work days, at a time starting as specified by the Senate Executive Committee. Once the open nomination period is closed, nominees will be presented electronically to the respective voters, and the final election will be held through electronic means. Ties shall be resolved by a run-off election on the following 2 work days.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Gay Miller, Chair Kim Graber, Vice-Chair Abbas Aminmansour Michael Bohlmann Nicholas Burbules **Bettina Francis** John Hart Matthew Hill Prasanta Kalita Calvin Lear William Maher Anita Mixon Kathryn Oberdeck David O'Brien Michael Sandretto Matthew Wheeler