## APPROVED BY SENATE 2/10/2014

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

SC.14.05 Endorsement of the Chancellor's statement on the Israeli Universities Boycott

Statement from Chancellor Phyllis Wise regarding the proposed boycott by U.S. universities of Israeli academic institutions

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign opposes the boycott of Israeli academic institutions and endorses the <u>statement made by the AAU</u>. At Illinois, we value academic freedom as one of our core principles and cherish the critical importance of the ability of faculty to pursue learning, discovery and engagement without regard to political considerations. Our institution opposes any efforts to limit the ability of our faculty to work with scholars from other institutions around the world, and we encourage such connections, as collaboration is one of our core values in the pursuit of knowledge.

Individual faculty are free to express their personal opinions on the proposed resolution, however, they are not acting on behalf of the university.

## RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Executive Committee recommends the Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus endorse the Chancellor's statement on the Israeli Universities Boycott.

## **Senate Executive Committee**

Roy Campbell, Chair Kim Graber, Vice-Chair Abbas Aminmansour Michel Bellini Damani Bolden Pat Gill Shao Guo John Hart Harry Hilton Prasanta Kalita Calvin Lear Melissa Madsen William Maher Gay Miller Joyce Tolliver Matthew Wheeler