UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Executive Committee (Final; Action)

SC.13.11 Nominations to Fill a Faculty Vacancy on Committee on Committees

Background

The *Bylaws*, Part D.6(c) states:

- (c) Nomination and Election of Faculty and Student Members
 - Nominations for the Committee on Committees shall be made by the incumbent Senate
 Executive Committee. Nominations may also be made for faculty committee positions by
 faculty senators and for student committee positions by student senators. Each nomination
 shall be accompanied by the consent of the nominee.
 - 2. If necessary, a preliminary ballot shall be held to reduce the number of faculty or student nominees, as the case may be, to twice the number of positions to be filled. In any such preliminary ballot, each student senator may vote for as many student nominees as there are student committee positions to be filled, and each faculty senator may vote for as many faculty nominees as there are faculty committee positions to be filled. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed.

3.

- a) The final election shall be by ballot.
- b) The final ballot shall contain the names of at least twice as many faculty senators as there are faculty positions and at least twice as many student senators as there are student positions to be filled. Among the students named, there shall be at least two undergraduates if an undergraduate is to be elected and at least two graduate or professional students if a graduate or professional student is to be elected.
- c) If there was a preliminary ballot, the names on the final ballot shall be those of the nominees receiving the highest numbers of votes on that preliminary ballot.
- d) With respect to either the faculty nominees or the student nominees, the names on the final ballot from any college, school, institute, or similar unit shall not exceed one if fewer than three committee positions are to be filled, or two if more than two committee positions are to be filled.
- e) In determining which nominees received the highest numbers of votes on the nominating ballots, the names of persons who would be barred from the final ballot by subparagraph (d) shall be disregarded.
- 4. On the final ballot each senator may vote both for as many faculty nominees as there are faculty positions to be filled, and for as many student nominees as there are student positions to be filled. Cumulative voting shall not be allowed. The faculty nominees and the student nominees receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected, except in cases where subsection (b) above Membership above would thereby be violated.

Following are the continuing faculty members and the years their committee terms expire:

Prasanta Kalita, Chair	ACES	2013
Marni Boppart	AHS	2013
Harley T Johnson	ENGR	2013
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	2014

Nominations

The following faculty members are nominated to fill one faculty vacancy on Committee on Committees with a term ending in 2014. The faculty nominee receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected.

Sara Benson	LAW
Steven Michael	BUS (nomination withdrawn)
David O'Brien	FAA
Kevin Waspi	BUS

Senate Executive Committee

Matthew Wheeler, Chair
Roy Campbell, Vice Chair
Abbas Aminmansour
Nicholas Burbules
Brock Gebhardt
Harry Hilton
Eric Johnson
Prasanta Kalita
John Kindt
Calvin Lear
William Maher
Jim Maskeri
Gay Miller
Joyce Tolliver
Konstantinos Yfantis

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected, and a short bio. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

Sara Benson (LAW)

Sara Benson is a Lecturer in the College of Law, teaching legal writing and serving as the Moot Court Faculty Advisor. She graduated from the University of Michigan earning a bachelor's degree in political science with class honors. She earned her J.D. Magna Cum Laude from the University of Houston Law Center, where she served as a notes & comments editor for the *Houston Law Review*. She practiced commercial litigation with Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP in Dallas before earning her LL.M. from Boalt Hall School of Law at the University of California, Berkeley. Most recently, she practiced law in Austin, Texas as staff attorney with the Women's Advocacy Project, where she focused on domestic violence issues. Her legal publications range from sexual orientation and the law-related issues to domestic violence and gender issues to legal writing methodology. She currently serves as an associate editor on the peer-edited journal of the Association of Legal Writing Directors.

David O'Brien (FAA)

I have considerable experience with the Senate and value its role in the University highly. I have been elected to the Senate during most years that I have been able to serve, and I have participated actively in its meetings and on its committees when my teaching schedule has permitted it. In particular, I have contributed energetically to the Library Committee in the past, and I have just begun working on the Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure. I also have considerable experience at the University, where I have fulfilled a variety of administrative roles, including Chair of the Art History Program.

I consider the Committee on Committees a very important part of the Senate, as it must ensure equitable and appropriate representation of the various parts of the University on Senate and other committees. It is important that the committee not only operate in a fair and open manner, but that it communicate such an appearance to the public. I would participate in this spirit, and I would balance representation of my particular constituencies with the larger needs of the University in carrying out the work of this committee.

Kevin G. Waspi (BUS)

Kevin Waspi is a lecturer in the Department of Finance. His non-UI career has included serving in Financial Management Services with CUNA Mutual Group/CUNA Mutual Life Insurance/CUNA Brokerage Services and as Vice President, Investments, for Champaign National Bank. He teaches courses in financial markets, investments, and employee benefits. His teaching has been recognized with the Campus Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Instruction, University of Illinois, 2002, the 2002 and 2009 Excellence in Teaching Award for Undergraduate Teaching, Commerce Alumni Association, and the Weinstein Excellence Award, College of Commerce, University of Illinois, 2001. He regularly appears in the university's Incomplete List of Excellent Teachers. He is co-author of two Financial Markets textbooks, and author/presenter of many articles/seminars on global finance, investment and economic topics. He currently serves the University as:

Conference on Conduct Governance: Current Member, (past Chair)

Senate Committee on Student Discipline: Current Chair