## APPROVED BY SENATE 12/9/2013

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Information Technology
Prefiled Resolution
(Final; Action)

## IT.14.01 Resolution in Support of the 2013 IT Strategic Plan

WHEREAS the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has formed a faculty-led IT governance committee structure to evaluate and recommend IT initiatives in research, teaching & learning, public engagement, security, and administration, and

WHEREAS in the summer of 2013 these IT governance committees completed a strategic plan designed to advance the goals set forth by the campus's Visioning Future Excellence and other strategic planning processes, to provide students, faculty, staff and alumni IT resources that give them a competitive advantage, and

WHEREAS fulfillment of this strategic plan will greatly enhance the University of Illinois's educational mission in campus classrooms and online environments by enhancing student learning in all these environments, improving student access to class resource materials and facilitating improved learning outcomes, and

WHEREAS fulfillment of this strategic plan identifies mobile computing access as a top priority for improving student utilization of learning resources, and will provide sufficient campus wireless networking to meet this expanding need, and

WHEREAS fulfillment of this strategic plan will further establish Illinois's leadership in IT infrastructure in support of research, identifying data-driven scholarship as a key strategic growth area, and supporting that growing with appropriately massive levels of data processing, storage, curation and communication, and

WHEREAS our campus's reputation as a leader in IT infrastructure makes it a target for continuous and growing cyber-attack, requiring significant expanded IT resources to continue to ensure the security of its student records and sensitive research projects,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Senate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign supports this 2013 IT Strategic Plan.

## **Committee on Information Technology**

John Hart, Chair
James Baltz
James Hahn
Brant Houston
Lori Kendall
David Lange
Gary J. Olsen
Randall Sadler
Brian Siegel
Paradise Yingzhu Sun
Steven Witt
Michael Hites, Ex officio
Paul Hixson, Ex officio