Report on IBHE Faculty Advisory Council Meeting

June 15, 2012

(Final; Information)

The <u>Faculty Advisory Council</u> (FAC) of the <u>Illinois Board of Higher Education</u> (IBHE) held a regularly scheduled meeting at <u>Black Hawk College</u> in Moline, Illinois on Friday June 15, 2012.

The meeting was called to order at 8:30 AM by Chair Abbas Aminmansour. Black Hawk College President, Dr. Thomas Baynum, welcomed the group to his campus and shared information about Black Hawk and its student population and demographics.

FAC Vice Chair Marie Donovan reported on her attending a recent committee of the P-20 Council. The Council then held a discussion on the seemingly high turnover among the IBHE staff and its potential adverse effects on the work of the Board staff. The groups asked the FAC Chair to write a letter to the IBHE Chairwoman and Executive Director expressing the Council's concerns on the subject and ask them to look into the matter.

Jonathan Lackland, IBHE Deputy Director for External Relations and Candace Mueller, IBHE Assistant Director for External Relations offered information on the latest higher education related legislative activities. Pension reform was a major point of discussion. The guests offered their perspectives on higher education issues to watch for next year.

Eric Zarnikow, the new Executive Director of the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) addressed the Council and offered his plans and perspectives on Monetary Award Program (MAP) administered by the Commission. The council shared its views on MAP eligibility and funding and appreciated the Director's commitment to include faculty perspectives in the upcoming discussions of the MAP Eligibility Task Force established by Illinois General Assembly, Senate Joint Resolution 69.

The three caucuses of the Council (four year public universities; community colleges and private/independent institutions) met separately and reported back to the Council.

In other business, the Council elected the following as its caucus chairs for the upcoming academic year: Aida Shekib of Governor State (Public Universities Caucus Chair); Gisele Atterberry of Joliet Junior College (Community College Caucus Chair) and Shawn Schumacher (Private/Independent Caucus Chair).

The meeting adjourned at 3:20 PM. The next meeting of the Council will be held at Moraine Valley College on Friday September 21, 2012.

Respectfully submitted Abbas Aminmansour