UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits FB.14.01 Annual Report for 2013-14 (Final; Information)

Committee Charge

The Senate Committee on Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits (FB) shall investigate and regularly report to the Senate on the adequacy and other attributes of the University's provisions for salaries, retirement benefits, sabbatical leaves, other leaves, hospitalization and medical insurance, life insurance, other insurance, investment and savings plans, travel reimbursement, housing benefits, educational benefits, recreational benefits, and other perquisites, benefits and conditions of faculty and academic staff employment.

This past year, FB took up a variety of issues including a benefits handbook, pensions, state legislation updates, and health benefits. FB presented informational updates on current benefits issues and events to the Senate throughout the academic year.

Websites for Continual Updates on Benefits Issues and New Legislative Proposals

In response to questions and requests by faculty, staff, and educational associates, FB has outlined the following public websites which provide concise information regarding ongoing legislative developments and proposals.

NESSIE	(University of Illinois Human Resources)
surs.org	(State Universities Retirement System)
suaa.org	(State Universities Annuitants Association)

All Illinois governmental offices may be reached via the State Directory Switchboard Operators at 217-782-2000.

Of course, any member of the public may always express an opinion on any topic to any Illinois decision maker. Public employees, however, are courteously reminded that there should be conformity with ethical guidelines (for example, state time or resources should not be used).

FACULTY AND ACADEMIC STAFF BENEFITS John Kindt, Chair Melody Allison Sean Anderson Monica Bielski Boris Qu Kim Praveen Kumar H.F. Williamson Brenda Butts, Ex officio (designee) Larry Curtis, Ex officio (designee) Cindy DeBrock, Ex officio (designee) Katie Ross, Ex officio (designee) Karie Wolfson, Ex officio