UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Senate Committee on Campus Operations Annual Report for 2013-2014 (Final; Information)

The Senate Committee on Campus Operations (SCCO) will have held four committee meetings during the 2013-2014 academic year (Sept. 23, Oct. 7, Nov. 4, and May 12); two spring 2014 meetings were canceled due to severe weather and schedule conflicts. Details of the committee's discussions may be found in the meeting minutes. The following is a summary of the most significant issues tackled by the committee this year.

- Interactions between F&S and units. The committee welcomed Al Stratman, the new Executive Director of Facilities and Services. Fruitful discussions related to deferred maintenance issues, resources and funding to support campus facilities, and renovations of specific buildings were held.
- Sustainability. Evan Delucia, the new Director of the Center for a Sustainable
 Environment, discussed the activities and goals of his office. Mid-year, Ben McCall,
 chair of the Campus Operations committee was appointed as Associate Director for
 the Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and the Environment, and became the ex officio
 designee for Evan Delucia. Nancy O'Brien was approved by the academic senate as
 chair of Campus Operations for the remainder of the year. Olivia Webb, Vice Chair of
 the Student Sustainability Committee, and others provided regular updates about the
 student review of funding requests and approved projects from student sustainability
 fees. The student committee provides thoughtful investment in campus sustainability
 projects.
- Instructional space. Reports from Kristin McMurray, Associate Registrar for Facility
 Management & Scheduling, provided background about the assignment of
 instructional space and proposed upgrades to scheduling software. Of special concern
 to the committee is meeting current needs as well as providing support for new
 pedagogical methods, such as the flipped classroom.
- Deferred maintenance. Doris Reeser, Capital Maintenance Planning Coordinator, provided a presentation of campus needs regarding deferred maintenance. She explained the Facility Condition Index (FCI) and noted that in 2007 the FCI was at .24 and had decreased to .16 in 2013. Due to new construction and renovation projects the decrease in the FCI is somewhat misleading, and the committee suggested that an assessment needs to be undertaken again. There was general agreement of the importance of continuing the Academic Facilities Maintenance Fund Assessment (AFMFA) student fee to support deferred maintenance projects. In addition, the Senate Executive Committee asked the Campus Operations committee to prepare a report regarding deferred maintenance and the amount needed for annual investment. Chair Ben McCall and members Gary Kling and Nancy O'Brien formed a subcommittee to review and discuss the issue. A report was prepared and submitted

to the committee for its consideration. Due to severe weather, the meeting at which the report was to be discussed was canceled and will be discussed at a future time.

- Parking. Edward Slazinik, Director of Auxiliary Services, presented an overview of the finances and challenges of Parking. He described the master plan for parking as well as sources of revenue and needs for improved infrastructure.
- Pedestrian safety. Stacey DeLorenzo, Transportation Demand Management
 Coordinator, provided information about pedestrian safety and the proposed
 expenditures for street repair to make needed improvements. Committee members
 expressed concerns about educating pedestrians and cyclists on appropriate
 interactions with vehicles. Ms. DeLorenzo indicated that some of that information is
 included in the student handbook. Others mentioned that MTD buses also had a
 campaign about visibility for pedestrians and cyclists.
- Future topics. The committee will submit its report on deferred maintenance to the Senate Executive Committee once approved, and pursue issues related to campus operations during the next academic year.

Committee on Campus Operations

Ben McCall, Chair (fall 2013)
Nancy O'Brien, Chair (spring 2014)
Monica Bielski Boris
William Bullock
Rex Gaskins
Tyler Harvey
Tom Johnson
Robert King
Gary Kling
Luke Olson
William Worn
Ben McCall, ex officio 2014
Marika Nell, ex officio
Suzanne Rinehart, ex officio
Allan Stratman, ex officio