UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.17.08 Nominations to the Joint Committee on Socially Responsible Licensing and Investment

BACKGROUND

The Committee shall provide advice to the Chancellor's Office on issues of social responsibility related to campus licensing or investments, consistent with the values of the university. Issues within its responsibility include, but are not limited to, licensing of the campus's names, symbols, and insignia; supporting workers' rights and fair labor practices; sponsorship of products; and corporate social responsibility more generally.

The Committee on Committees shall prepare, and the Senate shall approve, a list of candidates, with at least two nominees for each position to be filled. The Chancellor, in consultation with the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, shall appoint members from the list. The Chancellor shall appoint up to two additional faculty members of the Chancellor's choosing, in consultation with the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, to bring the total to five.

The faculty members shall serve staggered, renewable terms of three years.

NOMINATIONS

Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill three faculty vacancies with staggered three year terms. If no additional nominations are made, the six nominees below will be forwarded to the Chancellor for selection of three faculty to serve.

Rebecca Ginsburg	EDUC
Sheldon Katz	LAS
Bruce Rosenstock	LAS
Wendy Shelburne	LIBR
Scott Tainsky	AHS
Leslie Wexler	LAW

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Lisa Monda-Amaya, Chair
Amy Ando
Larry DeBrock
Tim Flanagin
George Gross
David Hanley
Tommy Justison
Nancy O'Brien
Annalisa Roncone
Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.