UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE Committee on Committees

(Final;Action)

CC.16.05 Nominations to the Research Policy Committee

BACKGROUND

The Research Policy Committee advises the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Research (VCR), and the Senate on matters of research policy. Eight of the ten faculty members are appointed by the VCR from nominations by the Senate. The one graduate member and one undergraduate student member are each appointed by the VCR from nominations by the Senate. Nominations should be twice the number of vacancies. The faculty members and graduate student member serve two-year terms and the undergraduate student serves a one-year term.

The faculty chair is selected in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee. The Chair of the Research Policy Committee will report to the Senate Executive Committee on the activities of this committee three times a year and will report to the full Senate annually.

NOMINATIONS

The Research Policy Committee has not been appointed for several years and needs to be reconstituted. Therefore, Committee on Committees recommends approval of the following slate of nominees to fill all eight faculty vacancies. If no additional nominations are made, the nominees below will be forwarded to the VCR.

Fouad Abd-El-Khalick	EDUC	Sarah Lubienski	EDUC
Nicole Allen	LAS	Susan Martinis	LAS
Douglas H Beck	ENGR	Neal Merchen	ACES
Jennifer Bernhard	ENGR	Feng Sheng Hu	LAS
Jeff Brawn	ACES	Jeffrey A. Woods	AHS
John Hart	ENGR		

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Prasanta Kalita, Chair Tim Flanagin George Gross Sarah Hochman Randy McCarthy Lisa Monda-Amaya Nancy O'Brien Titus Potter Marissa Roberson Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.