UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final; Action)

CC.16.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Background

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The Urbana-Champaign campus has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2017
Bettina Francis	LAS	2017
Kim Graber	AHS	2017
Sally Jackson	LAS	2017
Prasanta Kalita	ACES	2016
William Maher	LIBR	2016
Gay Miller	VMED	2016

Nominations

The following faculty are each nominated for a three-year term on USC, expiring in 2018. A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Harley Johnson	ENGR	2018
Terry Weech	LISC	2018
Matthew Wheeler	ACES	2018

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Prasanta Kalita, Chair Lisa Monda-Amaya Sara Benson Mitch Dickey William Gropp Sarah Hochman Calvin Lear Randy McCarthy Jenny Roether, ex officio

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected and a short bio-sketch in hard copy form. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

Terry Weech (LIS)

I am on the faculty of the Graduate School of Library and Information Science (LIS) where my teaching and research focus is Intellectual Freedom, the Economics of Information, and International issues relating to Information Professionals. I have served on a number of Senate committees over the years, including the Senate Library Committee, University Statutes and Senate Procedures, Academic Freedom and Tenure, and the Calendar Committee. I have served as Chair of the Senate Library Committee and Chair of University Statutes and Senate Procedures. I also served as the UIUC representative to the Faculty Advisory Council to the Illinois Board of Higher Education. I most recently served on the University Senates' Conference from 2008 to 2011. I have both my Masters and my Ph.D. from the University of Illinois. Prior to returning to Urbana in 1980 to join the faculty, I taught at the University of Iowa and Mississippi University for Women. I also taught doctoral level seminars at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, and at Emporia State University (Kansas). The 35 years I have served on the University of Illinois faculty have contributed to my commitment to the role of faculty in shared governance of the University and I look forward to continuing to participate in this process through the University Senates' Conference.

Matthew B. Wheeler (ACES)

Dr. Wheeler is Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He served as Chair of the Academic Progress and Eligibility Committee of the Athletic Board and Chair from 1999-2002. He is one of the Faculty Representatives to the Big Ten Conference and NCAA. Dr. Wheeler served on UIUC Senate Committees on Admissions, Conference on Conduct Governance, and General University Policy. Dr. Wheeler was elected to University Senates Conference in 2008, serving as Chair in 2010-11. He served as the USC representative to the UIUC Senate Executive Committee and was elected SEC Vice Chair in 2009-2011 and SEC Chair 2011-2013.

Harley T. Johnson (ENGR)

Harley T. Johnson is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He joined the UI in 2001 as an assistant professor, and he leads an active research group in mechanics of materials for electronics and solar energy. He has received numerous recognitions for his research and teaching, including a 2014-2015 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award, an NSF CAREER Award, election to Fellow status in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and many times listed in the UI List of Excellent Teachers. From 2011-2014 he served his department as Associate Head for Graduate Programs, during which time he oversaw a 30% increase in the number of applications to the department, significant growth in diversity among the 400+ graduate student body, and development of a new professional masters degree program. Professor Johnson previously represented his department on the Faculty Senate, and will return for a second term in 2015-2016. His other prior campus level service includes terms on the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees, the UI Athletic Board, the Provost's Faculty Compensation Review Committee, and the Chancellor's Gender Equity Council. Johnson received the B.S. degree from Georgia Tech, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Brown University, where he also served as Co-President of the Graduate Student Council.