UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

Committee on Committees (Final;Action)

CC.15.01 Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

Background

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership.

The Urbana-Champaign campus has ten (10) representatives to the University Senates Conference. Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

ENGR	2015
LAS	2015
ACES	2016
LIBR	2016
VMED	2016
LAS	2015
	LAS ACES LIBR VMED

Nominations

The following faculty are each nominated for a three-year term on USC, expiring in 2017. A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below. If no additional nominations are made, these individuals will be declared elected:

Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	2017
Kim Graber	AHS	2017
Sally Jackson	LAS	2017
Carol Skalnik Leff	LAS	2017

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Prasanta Kalita, Chair Sara Benson Anthony Fiorentino Tim Flanagin William Gropp Shao Guo Rachel Heller David O'Brien Joyce Tolliver Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected and a short bio-sketch in hard copy form. The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled. If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.

Nicholas Burbules (EDUC)

I have served before on the University Senates Conference and was its chair from 2012-13. This committee involves close consultations with the President, Vice-Presidents, and members of the Board of Trustees. After next year we will have a new President coming in, and may have a substantially restructured Board, and it will be important to have experienced members on the USC.

I served on the recent University Administration Review task force that produced a set of important recommendations on restructuring UA and making it more accountable to the campuses. I am eager to work with USC and the President Easter and eventual new President to see that these reforms get implemented.

It is important to have effective representatives for our campus on the USC, as well as members who can look across the campuses to the good of the University of Illinois as a whole.

Kim Graber (AHS)

Kim C. Graber is a Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Community Health and Director of Campus Honors. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Iowa, her master's from Columbia University Teachers College, and her doctorate from the University of Massachusetts. Her research interests include children's wellness, legislative policy mandates, and the scholarship of teaching and learning. She currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Senate Executive Committee and as a member of the University Senates Conference, General University Policy Committee, and the 7th Senate Review Commission. She has served on the Chancellor, Provost, and Vice Provost for International Affairs Search Committees. She chaired the Committee on Committees for six years, and has been a member of the Honorary Degrees Committee, Teaching Advancement Board, and Graduate College Executive Committee. She is a University of Illinois Distinguished Teacher/Scholar and received the 2009 Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Sally Jackson (LAS)

Sally Jackson has three degrees from Illinois (PhD, 1980) and returned to campus in 2007 as Chief Information Officer and Associate Provost, titles she held until 2011. Since returning to faculty status in Fall 2011, Jackson has been elected to the department Faculty Advisory Group, the campus Faculty Advisory Committee, the Faculty Senate, and the LAS Executive Committee. She has also been appointed to the Campus Budget Oversight Committee and the LAS Committee on Academic Standards, and has served on a number of ad hoc advisory committees. Jackson is serving her second Senate term and is a member of the Senate Budget Committee.

Carol Skalnik Leff (LAS)

Carol Skalnik Leff is Associate Professor of Political Science, specializing in democratization, ethnic conflict and the post-communist countries. PhD in Government, Harvard University. Her service focus at UIUC has been on international affairs education. Serves on the executive committees of the European Union Center and ACDIS (international Security), the Global Studies Graduate and Undergraduate Advisory Committees. Former acting director and frequent advisory committee member of the Center for Russian East European and Eurasian Studies. Two-term senator, service on the University Senates Conference, with specialization in enrollment management issues, and the Student Appeals committee. Board member of Champaign County ACLU.