Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Academic Calendars Agendas & Minutes Committees Committee Members Faculty Policy Guide Honorary Degrees Meeting Schedule Senate Meeting Videos Senate Members

April 21, 2008


Committee on Committees

CC.09.01     Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)


The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 2. a. (1) state:

"The University Senates Conference shall be made up of twenty members. The basic representation shall be two members from each senate. Additional members shall be apportioned to each senate, at least one from each senate, in numbers proportional to the number of faculty members on each campus. The apportionment shall be recalculated every five years. Each senate shall elect its own representatives from its membership."

In accord with this passage from the Statutes, the University Senates Conference has recently recalculated its faculty apportionment among the Chicago, Springfield, and Urbana-Champaign campuses.  As a result, there are now ten (10) representatives from the Urbana campus to the University Senates Conference.  Continuing members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the years their terms expire:

Nicholas Burbules                         EDUC        2010
Vernon Burton                                 LAS            2009
Karen Chapman-Novakofski       ACES         2009
Barclay Jones                                 ENGR        2010
Nancy O’Brien                                LIBR           2010
Richard Schacht                             LAS            2009



The following faculty senators are nominated for three-year terms on USC, expiring in 2011.  (A bio-sketch of each nominee is included below.)  If no additional nominations are made, these four (4) nominees will be declared elected:

Joseph Finnerty                            BUS
Joyce Tolliver                                 LAS
Terry Weech                                  LISC
Matthew Wheeler                          ACES


Committee on Committees
Kim Graber, Chair
Rebecca Bryant
Roy Campbell
Al Kagan
Dana Rabin
Justin Randall
Rachel Schwartz
Jason Webber



Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's signed statement of willingness to serve if elected.  The statement shall be dated and include the name of the position to be filled.  If present, the nominee's oral statement will suffice.


Joseph Finnerty (BUS)

Joe Finnerty has been a Professor of Finance at the U of I since 1984. He has served as the Chair of the University Statutes and Senate Procedures Committee . He  has been a member of the Senate Executive Committee since 2002. He is a member of the University Senates Conference (USC) since  and was a member of the Executive Committee of USC and chair of the USC Statutes Committee. He has also served as UIUC Senate and USC Observer to the Board of Trustee's meetings. He was a member of the Chancellor's Budget Committee which designed and implemented the current Campus Budget Oversight Committee (CBOC). He was a member of the Chancellor's Research Park Committees which laid the ground work for the South Farm's Research Park. He is currently chair of the Conference on Conduct Governance.

Joyce Tolliver (LAS)

Joyce Tolliver, Associate Professor of Spanish and Gender & Women's Studies, joined the faculty of the Dept. of Spanish, Italian and Portuguese in 1991. She is incoming Vice Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, and is finishing her first term on University Senates Conference. She also serves on Senate Committee on Equal Opportunity and Inclusion and on the Advisory Committee on the Academy for Capitalism and Limited Government. Last year, she was a member of the Sixth Senate Review Commission.

She was SIP Director of Graduate Studies and of Spanish Undergraduate Honors, and received the Graduate College Outstanding Mentor Award. In the Graduate College, she has served on the Executive Committee, the Programs Subcommittee, the Humanities and Creative Arts Area Committee of the Fellowship Board, and the Outstanding Mentor Selection Committee. In LAS, she has been a member of the Committees on Policy and Development, Humanities Scholarships and Honors, Courses and Curricula, Learning Communities Advisory Board, and the Teaching Academy Faculty Mentorship Program. She is an elected member of the Modern Language Association Delegate Assembly.

Terry Weech (LISC)

Terry Weech has been with the Graduate School of Library and Information Science since 1980. His area of research and teaching is in the management and evaluation of programs and services and international librarianship. His Senate experience includes Chair of the Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee, Member of the Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures, the Academic Calendar Committee, the Senate Library Committee, the Senate Council Subcommittee on Capricious Grading Procedures, and a member of the Senate Council Task Force on Productivity and Faculty Workload. He served as the UIUC Faculty Representative to the Faculty Advisory Committee of the Illinois Board of Higher Education, 1998-2000 and was a member of the University Senates Conference, 1997-99, 1999-2002. He has been awarded five Fulbright Senior Specialist grants to work with librarians and library educators in Bulgaria, Croatia, Italy, Slovakia, and Slovenia. He as been Chair of the Education and Training Section and the Chair of Education and Research Division of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions.

Matthew Wheeler (ACES)

Professor Wheeler has a doctoral degree in physiology and biophysics, and has conducted over 23 years of research on embryo biology and transgenic livestock. Dr. Wheeler has published 89 peer-reviewed papers and 85 book chapters, proceedings or technical articles. Dr. Wheeler's responsibilities at UIUC include teaching and research in biotechnology and reproductive biology in the Departments of Animal Sciences, Veterinary Clinical Medicine and Bioengineering. Dr. Wheeler received his education at the University of California-Davis, Colorado State University, University of Virginia and University of Wisconsin.  He was named University Scholar in 2002 and served as President of the International Embryo Transfer Society in 2005. Dr. Wheeler served as Chair of the Athletic Advisory Board from 1999-2002. He presently serves as a Faculty Athletic Representative to the Big Ten Conference and the NCAA. In the Senate Dr. Wheeler has served on the Admissions, Conduct Governance, and General University Policy Committees.