UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (Final; Information)

HD.24.11 2023-2024 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

This report summarized the activities of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (HD) during the 2022-2023 academic year. HD held three meetings during the fall 2023 semester (September 18, October 30, November 30) and two meetings during the spring 2024 semester (January 24, April 30). More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

The following nominations were approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2023-2024 academic year and will be recognized at the May 2024 Commencement ceremony:

- James D. Anderson, Dean Emeritus, William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Jeanne Gang, Founding Principal and Partner, Studio Gang
- I-Min Lee, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Epidemiology, Harvard University
- Larry Smarr, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Computer Science and Engineering, University of California San Diego

The following nomination was approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2022-2023 academic year. Due to a scheduling conflict, the nominee will be invited to the May 2025 Commencement ceremony:

- Gwynne Shotwell, President and Chief Operation Officer, SpaceX
- I. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

HD.22.02, Nomination by the Grainger College of Engineering
HD.23.04, Clarification of Honorary Degree Award Process
HD.24.01, Nomination by Chancellor Emeritus and Professor of Psychology Emeritus
HD.24.03, Nomination by the College of Fine and Applied Arts
HD.24.07, Nomination by the Gies College of Business and the Grainger College of Engineering
HD.24.08, Nomination by the Department of Industrial and Enterprise System Engineering
HD.24.09, Nomination by the Department of Advertising

Honorary Degrees	
Prasanta Kalita, Chair	Pollyanna Rhee
Paul Davidson	Celestina Savonius-Wroth
Pedro Hallal	Kai Shinbrough
Robert Mannis	Laura Wilhelm-Barr <i>, ex officio</i>