SP.24.05

December 4, 2023

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY STATUTES AND SENATE PROCEDURES (Final; Action)

SP.24.05 Proposed Revision to the *Constitution*, Article I, Section 5 and the *Bylaws*, Part A (quorum)

BACKGROUND

The twelfth edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised (RONR) states that "...a provision of the bylaws should specify the number of members that shall constitute a quorum, which should approximate the largest number that can be depended on to attend any meeting except in very bad weather or other extremely unfavorable conditions." [RONR (12th ed.) 3:3] The University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) and the University of Illinois Springfield (UIS) Senates both specify their respective quorums in their *Bylaws*.

The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Senate quorum provision is stated in the *Constitution*. The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures (SP) recommends relocating the quorum provision from the *Constitution* to the *Bylaws* to be in line with RONR (12th ed.), and with the UIC and UIS Senates.

RECOMMENDATION

The Senate Committee on University Statutes and Senate Procedures recommends the Senate approve the following proposed revision to the *Constitution* and *Bylaws*. Struck-through text indicates deletions, and <u>underlined</u> text indicates additions. *Bylaws* and *Constitution* amendments require two-thirds approval by the Senate. This proposed *Bylaws* revision will not become effective until the Board of Trustees approves the proposed revision to the *Constitution*.

PROPOSED REVISION TO THE CONSTITUTION, ARTICLE I, SECTION 5

- Section 5.- A quorum necessary for a Senate meeting shall consist of 100 senators elected and
- 2 serving.

3

6

4 PROPOSED REVISION TO THE BYLAWS, PART A

- 5 <u>3. A quorum of the Senate shall consist of 100 elected senators.</u>
- 7 The remainder of Part A shall be renumbered.

University Statutes and Senate Procedures
David Dalpiaz, Chair
H. George Friedman
Shawn Gilmore
Michael Grossman
Michael Han
Kyle Johnson
William Maher
Megan Pickens
Laura Czys, ex officio
Jessica Mette, ex officio
Jenny Roether, ex officio