CC.24.16 December 4, 2023

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.24.16 Election of a University Senates Conference (USC) Member to Fill a Vacancy on the 2023-2024 Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

BACKGROUND

In accordance with Senate *Bylaws* Part D.1.c.1.i, Membership of the SEC includes one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate at its organizational meeting. Nominees shall be those members of the Committee on University Senates Conference who consent to serve if elected.

NOMINATIONS

The Committee on Committees nominates the following USC member to fill a vacancy due to the resignation of John Dallesasse (ENGR). A statement of interest and experience is included.

Joyce Tolliver LAS Term ending 2024

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Chaya Sandler, Chair Maya Crystal John Dallesasse Prasanta Kalita Robin Kar Hayden Noel Carol Symes Isaac Zipperstein Jenny Roether, *ex officio*

STATEMENT OF INTEREST AND EXPERIENCE

Joyce Tolliver (LAS)

Joyce Tolliver is Director of the Program in Translation and Interpreting Studies and Associate Professor of Spanish & Portuguese. Her research and teaching deal with translation, gender, race, and sexuality in post-Empire Spain and the Philippines. She is a founding member of the Modern Languages Association Global Hispanophones Forum and has chaired its executive committee, as well as serving as elected member of the MLA Delegate Assembly and division executive committees. She has been very active in university shared governance, having chaired the Senate Executive Committee, University Senates Conference, Committee on General University Policy, and Committee on Committees, as well as serving on several system-wide and campus-wide policy development task forces. She has been elected to the Spanish and Portuguese Advisory Committee multiple times. In 2019, she was awarded the Campus Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award.