EP.24.021 September 18, 2023

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATIONAL POLICY

(Final; Information)

EP.24.021 Senate Committee on Educational Policy Task Force on Undergraduate Curriculum

The purpose of this Task Force will be to review the impact of <u>23 Illinois Administrative Code</u> <u>1050</u>, which requires 40 semester credit hours of upper-division courses in a 120 minimum semester credit hour undergraduate degree program in the state of Illinois. Upperlevel/division coursework is defined in the <u>University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Academic</u> <u>Catalog</u>. 40 hours of upper-division coursework represents one-third of the coursework for a 120 semester hour undergraduate degree. On our campus, 120 semester hours is the minimum number of hours for an undergraduate degree.

The Task Force will work within the jurisdiction of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy and will work as an information and fact-finding body to compile documentation, meet with stakeholders, and solicit campus feedback in order facilitate discussion which will lead to an informational report with recommendations to be given to the Senate Committee on Educational Policy for further study or action. In addition to gathering information from other Illinois and peer institutions, this report will (1) identify on our campus the non-revised undergraduate programs (degrees/majors) which have been grandfathered into the 40-hour upper-division requirement, (2) identify revised undergraduate programs that have successfully implemented 40-hours of upper-division courses, (3) identify colleges and/or units that are acutely challenged with 40-hours of upper-division courses in curricula revisions, (4) identify reasons why such challenges may exist, (5) identify potential solutions for these challenges, (6) identify areas to be updated in the Student Code which relate to upper-division hour requirements, and (7) make recommendations for further study or action.

The Task Force will include members of the Senate Educational Policy Committee in addition to faculty, advisors, and students from a cross section of colleges and units, including representatives from the Provost's Office, Registrar's Office, and Council of Undergraduate Deans. The chair of the Task Force shall be a member of the Senate.

The Task Force will meet on specific Mondays from 1:10 pm-2:50 pm and shall report its findings to the Senate Executive Committee and the Senate at the end of the Spring 2024 semester.

EDUCATIONAL POLICY Linda Moorhouse, Chair Jenny Amos Justin Aronoff Brandon Brockhouse Ryan Cordell Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider **Amy Fischer-Brown** Abby Lynch Michael Nowak Kolawole Omoyajowo Michael Penn Kirsten Pullen David Rivier Stephanie Sanders-Smith Isabella Sauer Jaya Yodh Kylie Zhang Michel Bellini, ex officio Stephen Downie, ex officio Suzanne Lee, ex officio Daniel Mann, ex officio Allison McKinney, ex officio Brooke Newell, ex officio