CC.24.12

September 18, 2023

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.24.12 Election of a Faculty Senator to Fill One Vacancy on the 2023-2024 University Senates Conference (USC)

BACKGROUND

The University Senates Conference is a System-wide body established by the *Statutes* and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several university senates. The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the *Statutes* [Article II, Section 2.a.1]. The representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the first day of the academic year following their election and must be faculty senators at the time their committee term begins. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve no more than two full terms consecutively. (*Bylaws* Part D.18)

The Senate Committee on the University Senates Conference shall keep the Senate informed concerning matters before the Conference and represent the interests of the Senate in the Conference. One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in *Bylaw* D, 1 (b).

Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the year their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring or have resigned.

2024		2025		2026	
Sara Benson	LIBR	Roy Campbell	ENGR	Prasanta Kalita	ACES
Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA	Angela Lyons	ACES
John Dallesasse	ENGR	Carol Leff	LAS	Carol Symes	LAS
				Joyce Tolliver	LAS

NOMINATIONS

The Senate Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senator for a one-year term on the University Senates Conference (USC) created by the resignation of Sara Benson (LIBR) and expiring in **2024**.

Linda Moorhouse FAA

A statement of interest is included.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES
Chaya Sandler, Chair
Maya Crystal
John Dallesasse
Prasanta Kalita
Robin Kar
Hayden Noel
Carol Symes
Isaac Zipperstein
Jenny Roether, ex officio

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

Linda Moorhouse (FAA)

Linda R. Moorhouse is a Professor of Conducting in the School of Music in the College of Fine and Applied Arts. As a wind band conductor, she has been recognized nationally and internationally for her leadership and work in music and music education. She has been a member of the University of Illinois faculty since fall 2010 and has served campus and the Senate in a variety of roles, including membership on the University Senate Committee on Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support; Provost's Task Force on Contingency Planning; Provost's Task Force on Student Code Academic Policies; Provost's Task Force on Course Modalities; and the recent Search Committee for Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost. She has been a member of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy for six years and is a Fellow of the Big Ten Academic Alliance Academic Leadership Program.