CC.24.05 May 1, 2023

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.24.05 Election of a University Senates Conference (USC) Member to Serve on the 2023-2024 Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

BACKGROUND

One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in Part D.1.c of the *Bylaws* (*Bylaws* Part D.18).

The Senate Executive Committee shall consist of (i) one of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference, elected by the Senate at its organizational meeting. Nominees shall be those members of the Committee on University Senates Conference who consent to serve if elected. [All continuing and newly elected USC members were invited to self-nominate. Only those listed in this proposal provided consent to serve if elected.]

A majority of votes shall be required to elect on the first ballot. If a majority vote is not reached on the first ballot, a runoff election shall be held between the two nominees who received the highest number of votes and including all of those tied with the highest or second highest number of votes. A plurality of the votes cast shall be required to elect on the second ballot. (*Bylaws* Part D.1.c.1.i)

NOMINATIONS

On behalf of the Committee on University Senates Conference members who consent to serve on the Senate Executive Committee if elected, the Committee on Committees presents the following nominees to serve a one-year term on the SEC ending 2024. Each senator may cast one vote.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

Please note this ballot is subject to change and is contingent upon the outcome of prior elections.

John Dallesasse ENGR

2022-2023 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES Chaya Sandler, Chair

Christoph Aoun Nicole Arnold John Dallesasse Virginia Dominguez Shifra Ferziger Joanne Kaczmarek Prasanta Kalita Hayden Noel Jenny Roether, *ex officio*