**CC.24.04** May 1, 2023

#### UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES (Final; Action)

CC.24.04 Election of Faculty Senators to the 2023-2024 Senate Committee on University Senates Conference (USC)

#### **BACKGROUND**

The University Senates Conference is a System-wide body established by the *Statutes* and composed of a total of twenty representatives from the several university senates. The number of representatives from each senate is specified in the *Statutes* [Article II, Section 2.a.1]. The representatives are elected by their respective senates for three-year terms beginning on the first day of the academic year following their election and must be faculty senators at the time their committee term begins. As close to one-third as possible of the representatives from each senate are elected each year. Representatives from the Urbana-Champaign Senate may serve no more than two full terms consecutively. (*Bylaws* Part D.18)

The Senate Committee on the University Senates Conference shall keep the Senate informed concerning matters before the Conference and represent the interests of the Senate in the Conference. One member of the Committee on University Senates Conference shall be elected to the Senate Executive Committee, as prescribed in *Bylaw* D, 1 (b).

Members of the Urbana delegation to the USC, and the year their terms expire are listed below. Members in *italics* have terms expiring or have resigned.

2023		2024		2025	
Prasanta Kalita	<b>ACES</b>	Sara Benson	LIBR	Roy Campbell	ENGR
William Maher	LIBR	Nicholas Burbules	EDUC	Jeffrey Eric Jenkins	FAA
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	John Dallesasse	ENGR	Carol Leff	LAS
Helga Varden	LAS				

## **N**OMINATIONS

The Senate Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senators for a three-year term on the University Senates Conference (USC), expiring in **2026**.

Prasanta Kalita	ACES	
Angela Lyons	ACES	
Carol Symes	LAS	
Joyce Tolliver	LAS	

The Senate Committee on Committees nominates the following faculty senator for a one-year term on the University Senates Conference (USC), expiring in **2024**.

Faculty Senator XXX

Statements of interest are included.

Nominations from the floor must be accompanied by the nominee's willingness to serve if elected and indicate the position to be filled, or the nominee's oral acceptance if present. A statement of interest limited to 150 words is also requested.

2022-2023 COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES
Chaya Sandler, Chair
Christoph Aoun
Nicole Arnold
John Dallesasse
Virginia Dominguez
Shifra Ferziger
Joanne Kaczmarek
Prasanta Kalita
Hayden Noel
Jenny Roether, ex officio

# **STATEMENTS OF INTEREST**

## **Prasanta Kalita** (ACES)

Dr. Prasanta Kalita is a Professor in the Agricultural & Biological Engineering Department. He serves as the chair of the Senate Honorary Degree committee and as the chair of the AARC of the USC. He served on several UIUC Senate committees and chaired the Campus Committee on Race and Ethnicity (CORE). Prasanta was a co-chair on Teaching Advancement Board (TAB), and served on ACES P&T Committee, both colleges of Engineering and ACES Executive Committees, and the UIUC Provost search committee. Prasanta has a well-funded research program and has guided more than 60 Ph.D. and MS graduate students, advised more than seventy undergraduate research students. He has won departmental, college, campus, regional, national, and international awards. He is a Fellow of the ASABE and a fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, India. Prasanta has served as Editor-in-Chief and Associate Editor of three international research journals.

# **Angela Lyons** (ACES)

Angela Lyons is an Associate Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics and a Faculty Fellow at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA). With a demonstrated commitment to shared governance, Angela has been a regular member of the Senate since 2009, contributing her expertise and experience to several Senate committees, including Admissions and Budgeting. Over the past two years, she has served as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits, and this year, she was elected to the Senate Executive Committee. Given her extensive involvement in university governance and her passion for representing the interests of the faculty and staff, Angela is excited at the prospect of continuing to serve the UIUC community as a member of the University Senates Conference (USC).

# **Carol Symes (FAA)**

Carol Symes is a Professor of History and University Scholar, with appointments in Theatre, Classics, and Medieval Studies, among other campus affiliations. She joined the Illinois faculty in 2002 and continues to be an active theatre practitioner. Her research on ancient and medieval communication technologies has catalyzed the field of premodern media studies and has been supported by NEH and ACLS fellowships. She is also the recipient of numerous book and article prizes from the American Historical Association and Medieval Academy of America, among other professional organizations. In 2013, she became the founding Executive Editor of The Medieval Globe, the first academic journal to promote a global approach to medieval studies, with a special mission to foster collaborations among humanists and scientists. She has served as History's Director of Undergraduate Studies (2009-12) and Director of Graduate Studies & Associate Chair (2019-22). Campus-wide service includes terms as Co-Chair of the General Education Board (2009-11); multiple terms on the Medieval Studies and Global Studies Advisory Boards; membership on the Graduate College Executive Committee (2019-22); and many years as a Research & Project Development Advisor in the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research in the Humanities, Arts & Related Fields.

### Joyce Tolliver (LAS)

Joyce Tolliver is Director of the Program in Translation and Interpreting Studies and Associate Professor of Spanish & Portuguese. Her research and teaching deal with translation, gender, race, and sexuality in post-Empire Spain and the Philippines. She is a founding member of the Modern Languages Association Global Hispanophones Forum and has chaired its executive committee, as well as serving as elected member of the MLA Delegate Assembly and division executive committees.

She has been very active in university shared governance, having chaired University Senates Conference (2018-2019), Senate Executive Committee (2009- 2011), Committee on General University Policy, and Committee on Committees, and served on several system-wide and campus-wide task forces. She has been elected to the Spanish and Portuguese Advisory Committee multiple times. In 2019, she was awarded the Campus Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award.