UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE

COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (Final; Information)

HD.23.07 2022-2023 Annual Report of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

This report summarized the activities of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (HD) during the 2022-2023 academic year. HD met on September 9 and November 15. More detailed information is provided in the minutes of those meetings.

The following nominations were approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2022-2023 academic year and will be recognized at the May 2023 Commencement ceremony:

- Louis Liay, Former Executive Director, University of Illinois Alumni Association
- Ares Rosakis, Theodore Von Karman Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, Division of Engineering and Applied Science, California Institute of Technology

The following nomination was approved by the committee and the Board of Trustees during the 2022-2023 academic year. Due to a scheduling conflict, the nominee will be invited to the May 2024 Commencement ceremony:

• Gwynne Shotwell, President and Chief Operation Officer, SpaceX

I. ITEMS UNDER CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE

HD.22.02, Nomination by the Grainger College of Engineering HD.22.03, Nomination by the Carle Illinois College of Medicine and the Grainger College of Engineering

HD.23.04, Clarification of Honorary Degree Award Process

HONORARY DEGREES
Prasanta Kalita, Chair
Stuti Agrawal
Paul Davidson
Krista Keller
Pollyanna Rhee
Celestina Savonius-Wroth
Josh Weiner
Laura Wilhelm-Barr, ex officio