# URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE 2017-2018 Elections and Organizational Meeting

April 17, 2017 Minutes

The 2017-2018 Elections and Organizational Meeting of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate was called to order at 3:10 pm in the Illini Union Ballroom with Chancellor Robert Jones presiding and Professor Emeritus H. George Friedman, Jr. serving as Parliamentarian.

## **SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT**

Gay Miller (VMED), faculty senator and Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) welcomed senators. Chair Miller reviewed the structure of Senate agendas for new senators. Miller also noted one of the major issues affecting higher education is the lack of funding. And there seems to be no end in sight to the continued lack of state budget. Legislators are needed to help support the funding of higher education. Miller encouraged senators to contact legislators. Lastly, Miller reminded senators that in accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act (OMA), everyone is required to complete the online OMA training. Clerk Roether will send senators a link to the OMA training.

## **CHANCELLOR'S REMARKS**

Chancellor Robert Jones welcomed newly elected and continuing members of the Senate. Jones thank senators for their willingness to serve and participate in this critically important part of shared governance. Jones looks forward to convening again in the fall when senators' terms officially begin. Jones then introduced the individuals that will sit at the front table at each Senate meeting: Senate Clerk Roether, SEC Chair Miller, and Parliamentarian Friedman. Senate Office staff Miller and Park will welcome senators at the door each meeting.

#### **PROPOSALS**

04/17/17-01 CC.18.01: Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC) Jones presented the slate of USC nominees and invited nominations from the floor.

04/17/17-02 Bruce Rosenstock and Jay Rosenstein were nominated from the floor.

04/17/17-03 The following vote totals were reported:

James Brennan 72
Nicholas Burbules 88
Bettina Francis 104
Joyce Tolliver 73
Jay Rosenstein 65
Bruce Rosenstock 65

04/17/17-04 By i>Clicker, Brennan, Burbules, Francis, and Tolliver were elected to the USC.

04/17/17-05 SC.18.02: Election of a University Senates Conference (USC) Member to serve on the Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

Jones presented SC.18.02 for action.

04/17/17-06 The following vote totals were reported:

James Brennan 17 Harley Johnson 43 William Maher 32 Matthew Wheeler 40

04/17/17-07 By i>Clicker, Johnson was elected to serve as the USC representative to the SEC.

04/17/17-08 <u>CC.18.02</u>: Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and Senate Representatives to Other Bodies

		April 17, 2017
	Jones presented CC.18.02 for action and invited nominations from	the floor.
04/17/17-09	Tara Chattoraj and Sullivan Peterson-Quinn were nominated from the floor to fill two vacant sea on the Senate Conference on Conduct Governance (CCG).	
	The slate of committee members was presented for action separately from the slate of chairs.	
04/17/17-10	The slate of committee members was approved with 105 in favor and 15 opposed.	
	The slate of committee chairs was presented for action.	
04/17/17-11	Faculty senator Reznick (LAS) nominated Gay Miller as chair of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (EPC).	
04/17/17-12	The following vote totals were reported:	
	Meyer 34 Miller 93	
04/17/17-13	By i>Clicker, Miller will go forward as the chair of EPC.	
04/17/17-14	The slate of chairs was approved as amended with 108 in favor and 14 opposed.	
04/17/17-15	SS.18.01: Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee	
	Chancellor Jones presented the preliminary ballot of committee ch	airs willing to serve on the SEC.
04/17/17-16 The following vote totals were reported:		
	Mark Steinberg, Chair of Academic Freedom and Tenure John Dallesasse, Chair of Campus Operations	87 62
	Kim Graber, Chair of Elections and Credentials	59
	Matthew Wheeler, Chair of Honorary Degrees	66 40
	Terry Weech, Chair of Library Cynthia Buckley, Chair of Public Engagement	40 47
	Mark Dressman, Chair of University Student Life	43
04/17/17-17	By i>Clicker, Steinberg, Dallesasse, Graber, Wheeler, and Buckley w	vill appear on the final ballot.
04/17/17-18	The following vote totals were reported:	
	Mark Steinberg, Chair of Academic Freedom and Tenure	86
	John Dallesasse, Chair of Campus Operations	61
	Kim Graber, Chair of Elections and Credentials	65
	Matthew Wheeler, Chair of Honorary Degrees	63

04/17/17-19 By i>Clicker, Graber, Steinberg, and Wheeler were declared elected to the SEC.

Cynthia Buckley, Chair of Public Engagement

#### **REPORTS**

- 04/17/17-20 SC.18.01: Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair, and Faculty and Student Members of the Committee on Committees
- 04/17/17-21 SP.18.01: Faculty, Academic Professional, and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
- 04/17/17-22 <u>SP.18.02</u>: 2017-2018 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership

## **A**DJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 pm.

Jenny Roether, Senate Clerk \*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these minutes. A video recording of these proceedings can be found at <a href="https://go.illinois.edu/senate">https://go.illinois.edu/senate</a>

60