APPROVED BY SENATE 09/19/2016

URBANA-CHAMPAIGN SENATE 2016-2017 Elections and Organizational Meeting April 18, 2016 Minutes

The 2016-2017 Elections and Organizational Meeting of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate was called to order at 3:17 pm in Illini Room A of the Illini Union with Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs Abbas Benmamoun presiding and Professor Emeritus H. George Friedman, Jr. serving as Parliamentarian.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT

Gay Miller (VMED), faculty senator and Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) welcomed senators. Chair Miller encouraged senators to contact her if senators have concerns or questions. Miller has and will continue to encourage shared governance in action in the Senate and more commonly in Senate committees. Read the Committee charges and contact the appropriate committee chair with your concerns.

Shared governance comes with responsibilities; to work hard when asked, to listen carefully to understand others' perspectives, to share your thoughts by speaking and voting, to share your views and respect the views of others.

Chair Miller introduced those at the front table; Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs Abbas Benmamoun, Senate Parliamentarian George Friedman, and Senate Clerk Jenny Roether.

Chair Miller brought senators attention to the Campus Master Planning and noted that providing feedback would be a way to contribute to the campus. Miller mentioned the interactive website for reviewing information: <u>https://www.uocpres.uillinois.edu/resources/uiucplan</u>.

Members of the Senate and Senate committees are subject to the Illinois Open Meetings Act (OMA) and are required to complete the online training. Senate Clerk Roether will send an email via the Senate listserv with a link to the online training.

04/18/16-01 Tellers for the meeting were faculty senators G. Francis (LAS) and Graber (AHS), and student senator LeRoy (BUS).

CHANCELLOR'S REMARKS

Abbas Benmamoun, Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs thanked all senators for their service as a senator and being a part of shared governance. Shared governance is taking ownership of this university, and lend our perspective and expertise to make informed decisions that impact the future of this university.

I>CLICKER TUTORIAL

Chair Miller gave a short tutorial on i>Clicker use.

Parliamentarian Friedman gave pointers on speaking into the microphone to ensure everyone's voices are heard during meetings.

PROPOSALS

04/18/16-02 <u>CC.17.01</u>* Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

On behalf of the Senate Committee on Committees, committee member O'Brien (LIBR) moved approval of the nominees on CC.17.01. There were no floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

- 04/18/16-03 By voice vote, Kalita (ACES), Maher (LIBR), and Miller (VMED) were declared elected to the USC.
- 04/18/16-04 <u>SC.17.02</u>* One of the Senate's representatives to the University Senates Conference (USC), elected to serve on the Senate Executive Committee

On behalf of the SEC, Chair Miller presented SC.17.02. There were no nominations from the floor and nominations were declared closed.

- 04/18/16-05 By voice vote, Burbules (EDUC) was declared elected as the USC Representative to the SEC.
- 04/18/16-06 SC.17.03* Election of Faculty Members to the Committee on Committees

On behalf of the SEC, Chair Miller presented SC.17.03. Due to the tie between the three LAS nominees in the online election, a run-off election was held between the three LAS nominees since no two nominees may be from the same college on the final ballot.

The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported in the LAS run-off election:

Molina	LAS	57
Francis	LAS	49
Somerville	LAS	26

04/18/16-07 By i>Clicker, Molina will advance to the final ballot.

In the final election, the following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

Molina	LAS	73
Monda-Amaya	EDUC	70
DeBrock	BUS	63
Motl	AHS	37

04/18/16-08 By i>Clicker, Molina (LAS) and Monda-Amaya (EDUC) were declared elected to the Senate Committee on Committees.

EDUCATIONAL POLICY COMMITTEE (EPC) CHAIR BETTINA FRANCIS EXPLAINED THE ROLE OF EPC

PROPOSALS

04/18/16-09 <u>CC.17.02</u>*

Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate and Senate Representatives to Other Bodies

Committee on Committees Chair Kalita (ACES) thanked the members of the Committee for all of their hard work putting together the slate of nominees and moved approval of the slate of nominees on proposal CC.17.02.

04/18/16-10 Student senator Villanueva (LAS) nominated the following students to serve on the corresponding committees. The nominees verbally stated their willingness to serve.

Student senator Roncone (LAS) was nominated to serve on the Senate Committee on General University Policy. Awad and student senator Whitman (LAS) were nominated to serve on the Senate Committee on Student Discipline. Gordon and student senator Raju (ENGR) were nominated to serve on the Senate Committee on Educational Policy. Student senator Szofer (EDUC) was nominated to serve on the Senate Committee on University Student Life. Gonigam was nominated to serve on the Senate Committee on Information Technology.

04/18/16-11 All student nominations were accepted without objection.

04/18/16-12 Faculty senator Graber (AHS) nominated faculty senator DeBrock (BUS) to the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (EPC). The seven nominees with the highest votes were elected to the EPC.

The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

Cooke	ACES	104
Reisner	MDA	103
Muncaster	LAS	101

McCarthy	LAS	99
Ngo	LAS	99
Meyer	MDA	95
Michael	BUS	93
DeBrock	BUS	66

- 04/18/16-13 By i>Clicker, Cooke (ACES), Reisner (MDA), Muncaster (LAS), McCarthy (LAS), Ngo (LAS), Meyer (MDA), and Michael (BUS) were declared elected.
- 04/18/16-14 By voice, the amended slate of nominees on CC.17.02 was approved.
- 04/18/16-15 <u>SS.17.01</u>* Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee

Vice Provost Benmamoun presented the ballot of committee chairs willing to serve on the SEC, and opened the polls.

The following i>Clicker vote totals were reported:

Steinberg, Chair of Academic Freedom and Tenure	
Benson, Chair of Conference on Conduct Governance	86
Oberdeck, Chair of Equal Opportunity and Inclusion	86
Kindt, Chair of Faculty and Academic Staff Benefits	51
Wheeler, Chair of Honorary Degrees	

04/18/16-16 By i>Clicker, Steinberg (LAS), Benson (LAW), and Oberdeck (LAS) were declared elected to the SEC.

PARLIAMENTARIAN GEORGE FRIEDMAN EXPLAINED BASIC PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURE

REPORTS

- 04/18/16-17 <u>SC.17.01</u>* Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair, and Student Members of the Committee on Committees.
- 04/18/16-18 SP.17.01* Faculty, Academic Professional, and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution
- 04/18/16-19 SP.17.02* 2016-2017 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:17 pm.

Jenny Roether, Senate Clerk

*Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these minutes. A video recording of these proceedings can be found at <u>https://go.illinois.edu/senate</u>