Page 1 of 2 Senate Minutes
April 22, 2013

### **Minutes**

# **Urbana-Champaign Senate Organizational Meeting**

April 22, 2013

The organizational meeting of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate was called to order at 3:15 pm on the 3<sup>rd</sup> floor of Levis Center with Chancellor Phyllis Wise presiding and Professor Emeritus Kenneth E. Andersen as Parliamentarian.

# **Senate Executive Committee Report**

Faculty senator and Chair of the Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Matthew Wheeler (ACES) welcomed new and continuing senators. He reminded senators that the Open Meetings Act (OMA) does not allow for anonymous voting and asked that senators write their name at the top of any ballot.

Tellers for the meeting were faculty senators Roy Campbell (ENGR), H. F. Williamson (LAS), Kevin Waspi (BUS), Mary Mallory (LIBR), and student senators Calvin Lear (GRAD) and Kevin Seymour (GRAD).

## **Chancellor's Remarks**

Chancellor Phyllis Wise welcomed all newly elected senators and expressed her gratitude to continuing senators. Wise reiterated the necessity and importance of the Senate. Visioning Future Excellence has been able to address the strategic planning initiated by President Robert Easter. Wise noted that Vice Chancellor and Provost Ilesanmi Adesida outlined the current initiatives, initiates planned in the future, and initiatives that this campus dreams of accomplishing. Wise added that administration will continue to request advice in all initiatives.

# **Proposals for Action**

04/22/13-01 CC.14.01\* Nominations for Membership on the University Senates Conference (USC)

On behalf of Committee on Committees, faculty committee member David O'Brien moved approval of the three nominees on CC.14.01. Student senator Calvin Lear (GRAD) nominated faculty senator William Maher (LIBR) from the floor. Faculty Senator Maher's (LIBR) written willingness to serve was submitted and a bio was distributed with the meeting materials. There were no other floor nominations and nominations were declared closed.

Tellers reported the following vote totals:

Andrew Alleyne	ENGR	40
Prasanta Kalita	ACES	59
William Maher	LIBR	57
Gay Miller	VMED	63

04/22/13-02 Faculty Senators Kalita, Maher, and Miller were declared elected.

Chair of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy, Gay Miller, explained the role of the Educational Policy Committee while ballots were tallied.

04/22/13-03 <u>SC.13.02</u>\* Election of One Member of the Urbana Delegation to the USC to Serve on the Senate Executive Committee (SEC)

Joyce Tolliver, Prasanta Kalita, and Gay Miller requested removal of their names from the ballot. The nominations were declared closed.

Ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

George Francis	LAS	26
Matthew Wheeler	ACES	62

04/22/13-04 Faculty senator Wheeler was declared elected.

04/22/13-05 <u>CC.14.02</u>\* Nominations for Membership on Standing Committees of the Senate, General Education Board, and the Military Education Council

On behalf of the Senate Committee on Committees, faculty senator and Committee Chair Prasanta Kalita (ACES) moved approval of the slate of committee nominees on CC.14.02.

04/22/13-06 By voice vote, the slate of committee nominees was approved as distributed.

Professor Emeritus Kenneth E. Andersen as Parliamentarian reviewed basic parliamentary procedure and pointed senators to the parliamentary procedure document distributed with the meeting materials.

04/22/13-07 SS.14.01\* Election of Committee Chairs to the Senate Executive Committee

Chancellor Wise presented the ballot of committee chairs willing to serve.

Preliminary ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

Michael Sandretto	BUS	37
Ben McCall	LAS	32
Harry Hilton	ENGR	45
John Kindt	BUS	42
Michel Bellini	LAS	41
Pat Gill	LAS	38

Final ballots were distributed and senators voted from the names of the five nominees receiving the highest number of votes on the preliminary ballot.

Final ballots were collected and tellers reported the following vote totals:

Michael Sandretto	BUS	35
Harry Hilton	ENGR	59
John Kindt	BUS	46
Michel Bellini	LAS	50
Pat Gill	LAS	50

04/22/13-08 Committee Chairs Bellini, Gill, and Hilton were declared elected to serve as members of the SEC.

### **Reports for Information**

04/22/13-09 SC.14.01\* Results of the Election for Senate Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair and Faculty and Student Members of the Committee on Committees

04/22/13-10 SP.14.01\* Faculty, Academic Professional, and Student Electorate and Senator Distribution

04/22/13-11 SP.14.02\* 2013-2014 Urbana-Champaign Senate Membership

# Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:10pm.

Jenny Roether, Senate Clerk

<sup>\*</sup>Filed with the Senate Clerk and incorporated by reference in these minutes.