University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Illinois
Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus

Topics of Interest

About Us

Welcome to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Senate website. If there is something you would like to have available here, please let us know. Your thoughts and opinions are important to us.

The Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus is a legislative body comprised of about 200 faculty, 50 students, and eight other academic staff members. Duties of Senate committees are specified in the Senate Bylaws.

The University of Illinois Statutes, Article II, Section 1, provide for a senate to be constituted at each campus of the University, to exercise legislative functions in matters of educational policy such as:

Members of the campus community are welcome to attend meetings of the Senate.

Non-senators who wish to request floor privileges to discuss items on Senate agendas may do so at least five days in advance of the scheduled meeting by calling 333-6805 or emailing Please provide your name, title, and the name of the item that you wish to address. The Senate will vote on requests for floor privileges. Time allotted for floor privileges for non-senators may be limited.

2014-15 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Chair Roy Campbell
2014-15 Senate Executive Committee (SEC) Vice Chair Kim Graber